Not Gonna Lie

This really bothers me. “Not gonna lie” is the most annoying phrase to enter the common parlance in recent years. It drives me nuts because I used to assume honesty as a default. This phrase implies that dishonesty is the default and what really pisses me off is that the latter seems to be true now. It bothers me how old I was when I realized that most people were less honest than I was. It bothered me a great deal to realize that an ex was right when he opined that honesty was for idiots. It bothers me that the rise of dishonesty is so unremarked upon. It bothers me because it is yet another signal that our society, our civilization, is swirling around the bowl faster every day and will soon go right down the drain. In order for a civilization to work, for commerce to work, you need a foundation of trust. The foundation of trust is a shared expectation that people are generally honest and trustworthy. Without that foundation, we will watch human institutions that took centuries to build crumble to dust in a few years. Not gonna lie, that makes me sad.

Posted on October 11, 2023, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.